Things that Say A lot

IMG_0094 IMG_0067

“the way in which they treat the waiter/waitress
how they feel about the weather
whether they dog ear pages or highlight in books
fingernails
and hands in general
their preferred creative outlet
how much they dread/enjoy talking on the phone
whether or not they drink coffee
if they ever forget to eat
how honest they are with themselves (and others)
if they correct your grammarand whether or not they get nervous before haircuts.”

-Unknown

I treat waiters and waitresses just like I treat any other stranger–cautiously polite, not overly friendly but still with a smile, and a thank you/please.

My perfect day would be 50 to 60s, overcast, and a little drizzle in the morning. I like I overcast days, because it is by far the best lighting for pictures, and I do not like the sun beating mercifully on my back. However, I do not like days that are so overcast it is gloomy. I like an overcast day that feels cozy, rather than gloomy. I enjoy all weather in moderation; I love all the changes, but what I described above is one of my faveorites. I also love a crisp fall day with the wind soaring and rushing against my face. Fall is most likely my favorite season for the weather and in general.

All my books are well read, and you can tell by looking at them, but unless I am reading my bible or a school book I do not a mark my books up simple because I am rushing through and devouring the words as if my life depended on it. So with that said, if I read as if my life depends on it I have no time to highlight or mark pages,

I used to tear my fingernails till there would there would hardly be any nail left. One year I decided that was going to change and I quit tearing my nails. They were so long, thankfully, I am a girl. Now I started guitar so my fingernails are now kept a short trim, are filed, and are clean.

Hands in general? Definitely small and unlike most girl my age I still have my baby dimples. If you lay a child’s hand out they would have little dimples in the place were you most likely have knuckles.

When I am feeling creative I take pictures. Photography is my creative outlet thought I have just started getting really into it and actually practicing in manually. All over the web the two most famous tips on photography are take lots of pictures, and shoot in manual, so I have been trying to do both.

I do not dread talking on the phone, however I find it to be at sometimes akward. I definitely prefer face to face conversations. Face to face conversations are easier to communicate since you can express yourself not only with the tone in your voice, but also with gestures and facial expressions. It is also easier to understand a person if you are watching them as they talk and as you talk. However, talking on the phone with a friend is a skill I would like to grow in.

I am more of a tea drinker, though I do not always turn down a cup of coffee. If I have coffee I prefer lots of cream and lots of sugar. I LOVE frappucinos, and right now my favorite at Starbucks is the Salted Carmel Mocha Frappucinos with extra carmel! There is also this secret menu and I think I might try the Twix next time.

I love food to much to forget to eat, but a few times a week I will forget to eat breakfast simply because I forget or do not make time to eat breakfast. On those days I simple have multiple cups of tea.

My character tends to be more neater when I am around my friends. I would not say I am being dishonest I am just a more cautious of how I act around people who are not my close family. I am always honest with myself, except when I tell myself I can handle one more cookie…

One reason I do not correct other people’s grammar is I am not to good at it myself (Confession: commas are my weak point). If it is something really annoying I tell them. For instance when my brother was little and my sister got milk he would say, “her gets milk?!?”. My mom had to limit how much milk he drank, because he has drunk as much as six cups of milk in one day. Things like that tend to annoy more than some smaller mistake, except there is nothing cuter than a little kid who does not have the proper grammar.

Yes! I really freak out about hair cuts! For one thing you are left alone with a stylist for thirty minuter to an hour, and its hard to make conversation with a complete stranger for that long. The worst part is finding a hair dresser you can trust your hair with. I had a small trim in the summer, but before that it had been three and a half years since I had gotten a hair cut. This past month I finally sucked up my guts and went to a hairstylist, and the results were good. My hair was much lighter and was much more easier to style, however I did not like how she styled it. I went home to a shower and fell in love with my cut. If anyone else saw my cut it would just look slightly shorter.

I hope you enjoyed this post. I would love to see what you would do with “things that say a lot about people”. So if you do a repost, comment with the link and I will be sure to read it.

Emma

3 comments

  1. That’s a great idea! I love those pics of you too. Your hair is so pretty! Let me see what my answers would be…Here we go. I underline books, never go to stylists so no, I don’t get nervous; correct other people’s grammar/spelling way too much, just ask ’em. 🙂 LOVE coffee and will drink it every day if I was allowed, though I do drink tea too. Talking on the phone makes me nervous, generally. I freeze up with some people and talk for hours with others though. I used to tear my nails too, but now I clip them. Well, I clip the left hand and let the other one grow out because I play guitar and need the nails for fingerstyle. Hands are kinda rough because I live on a farm…I get nervous around waiters/waitresses adults in general so I typically say the bare minimum. No, I do not generally forget about meals, although lunch is sometimes an unnecessary meal for me. My preferred creative outlet would be writing books. I have LOTS of books. I like crisp days, in the mid 60s. I don’t like it to be rainy all the time because it makes me depressed, but a good hard, lightning/thunder rain is nice every once in a while. I guess that’s all!

    P.s. Just so you don’t think I’m some random stranger who somehow found your blog and is now commenting on all your posts, I know some of the people in WVC.

    1. Thanks for taking the time to write out the answers. Your favorite weather day sounds a lot like mine!
      Who do you know in WV?
      Emma

  2. The annoying ones…:) I know Colin and I’ve been around Jake a few times, though probably not enough to say I really know him. I hear about WV and I’ve seen some WV ball pictures, which is where I found you.

Leave a Reply

